CTET Exam Pattern 2026
Short Information: CTET 2026 recruitment is open. CTET 2026 follows a two-paper structure with 150 questions each, 2.5 hours per paper, testing deeper conceptual understanding. Eligibility, age limit, application fee, the full vacancy table and the direct official link are on this page, taken from the notification itself.
- Information last verified
- · Admin
- Source
- Official CBSE notification · tier 2
- Status
- Verified
Different from "last updated": this is when the facts were confirmed against the linked document. Errors? See the corrections policy.
Key points
- CTET has two papers; each contains 150 questions.
- Each paper is 2.5 hours long.
- CTET questions test deeper conceptual understanding than similar exams.
- Negative marking applies to CTET; the exact penalty per wrong answer is in the official notification.
- Speed from other teacher-eligibility exams like UP TET transfers to CTET prep.
- Check the official CBSE notification for language options and subject breakdown.
What is CTET Exam Pattern?
The structure, question count, marking scheme and duration set by CBSE for the Central Teacher Eligibility Test. CTET assesses teaching aptitude across two separate papers for primary and upper primary levels.
What is the CTET exam pattern?
CTET is a two-paper exam conducted by CBSE. Each paper has 150 questions and runs for 2.5 hours. The exam tests conceptual depth rather than surface recall, and applies negative marking to wrong answers.
CTET 2026 Exam Pattern Overview
| Paper | Questions | Marks | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paper I (Primary: Classes I–V) | 150 | Not stated in available evidence | 2.5 hours |
| Paper II (Upper Primary: Classes VI–VIII) | 150 | Not stated in available evidence | 2.5 hours |
How many stages does CTET have?
CTET is a single-stage exam. Candidates take either Paper I or Paper II (or both) in one sitting. There is no separate interview or second round.
How many questions and marks is each paper?
Each CTET paper contains 150 questions. The total marks per paper are not stated in the evidence available on this site. Refer to the official CBSE notification for the mark allocation.
Is there negative marking in CTET?
Yes. CTET applies negative marking to incorrect answers. The exact penalty per wrong answer is set by CBSE and must be checked in the official 2026 notification.
How long is each paper and in which languages is it set?
Each CTET paper lasts 2.5 hours. The languages in which Paper I and Paper II are available are not detailed in the evidence this site holds. Check the official CBSE CTET notification for the full list of languages.
Official documents
| 2026 official page | Click Here |
|---|---|
| 2026 official page | Click Here |
Everything else about CTET
CTET 2026 : Important Question
How does CTET exam pattern differ from UP TET?
Both follow the same basic structure—150 questions in 2.5 hours—but CTET questions test deeper conceptual understanding and carry stricter negative marking. Speed from UP TET prep is transferable to CTET.
Can I take both CTET papers on the same day?
The exam structure allows two papers, but the exact scheduling (same day or different days) is set by CBSE. Check the official notification for the 2026 exam calendar.
Where do I find the full CTET 2026 exam pattern details?
Visit the official CBSE CTET website at https://ctet.nic.in/ or download the official notification from https://cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in/s3443dec3062d0286986e21dc0631734c9/uploads/2026/03/202603121086699841.pdf.
CTET — Full Timeline
- Notification
- CTET Recruitment 2026 (03 September 2026)
- Admit Card
- CTET Admit Card 2026 (04 September 2026)
- Syllabus
- CTET Syllabus 2026 (19 October 2026)
- Guide
- UP TET Mains & CTET Eligibility: Complete FAQ for UP Teachers (19 October 2026)
- Prepare for CTET After UP TET: Syllabus Bridge & Month-by-Month Roadmap (19 October 2026)
- Exams After UP TET: CTET, Mains & Career Pathways Explained (19 October 2026)
Every update verified against the official notification. Exam Notification writes every update from the issuing authority's own notification and links that document above; the official website remains the final authority.