CTET Exam Pattern 2026

CTET Online Form 2026

Short Information: CTET 2026 recruitment is open. CTET 2026 follows a two-paper structure with 150 questions each, 2.5 hours per paper, testing deeper conceptual understanding. Eligibility, age limit, application fee, the full vacancy table and the direct official link are on this page, taken from the notification itself.

Applications open Application window is open
Information last verified
· Admin
Source
Official CBSE notification · tier 2
Status
Verified

Different from "last updated": this is when the facts were confirmed against the linked document. Errors? See the corrections policy.

Key points

What is CTET Exam Pattern?

The structure, question count, marking scheme and duration set by CBSE for the Central Teacher Eligibility Test. CTET assesses teaching aptitude across two separate papers for primary and upper primary levels.

What is the CTET exam pattern?

CTET is a two-paper exam conducted by CBSE. Each paper has 150 questions and runs for 2.5 hours. The exam tests conceptual depth rather than surface recall, and applies negative marking to wrong answers.

CTET 2026 Exam Pattern Overview

CTET 2026 Exam Pattern Overview
PaperQuestionsMarksDuration
Paper I (Primary: Classes I–V)150Not stated in available evidence2.5 hours
Paper II (Upper Primary: Classes VI–VIII)150Not stated in available evidence2.5 hours

How many stages does CTET have?

CTET is a single-stage exam. Candidates take either Paper I or Paper II (or both) in one sitting. There is no separate interview or second round.

How many questions and marks is each paper?

Each CTET paper contains 150 questions. The total marks per paper are not stated in the evidence available on this site. Refer to the official CBSE notification for the mark allocation.

Is there negative marking in CTET?

Yes. CTET applies negative marking to incorrect answers. The exact penalty per wrong answer is set by CBSE and must be checked in the official 2026 notification.

How long is each paper and in which languages is it set?

Each CTET paper lasts 2.5 hours. The languages in which Paper I and Paper II are available are not detailed in the evidence this site holds. Check the official CBSE CTET notification for the full list of languages.

Official documents

Everything else about CTET

CTET 2026 : Important Question

How does CTET exam pattern differ from UP TET?

Both follow the same basic structure—150 questions in 2.5 hours—but CTET questions test deeper conceptual understanding and carry stricter negative marking. Speed from UP TET prep is transferable to CTET.

Can I take both CTET papers on the same day?

The exam structure allows two papers, but the exact scheduling (same day or different days) is set by CBSE. Check the official notification for the 2026 exam calendar.

Where do I find the full CTET 2026 exam pattern details?

Visit the official CBSE CTET website at https://ctet.nic.in/ or download the official notification from https://cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in/s3443dec3062d0286986e21dc0631734c9/uploads/2026/03/202603121086699841.pdf.

CTET — Full Timeline

  1. Notification
  2. Admit Card
  3. Syllabus
  4. Guide

All CTET updates →

Note: Always read the official notification carefully before applying.
Every update verified against the official notification. Exam Notification writes every update from the issuing authority's own notification and links that document above; the official website remains the final authority.